Board of Commissioners

Board of Commissioners in front of Oconee County Courthouse

John Daniell, Chair

John Daniell

Mark Thomas, Post 1

Mark Thomas

Chuck Horton, Post 2

Chuck Horton

Amrey Harden, Post 3

Amrey Harden Headshot Link to Commissioner Bio Page

Mark Saxon, Post 4

Mark Saxon


The mission of the Oconee County Board of Commissioners is to provide the highest quality services in a fiscally responsible manner to promote the health, safety, and general welfare of all Oconee County citizens.


The Oconee County Board of Commissioners is the county governing authority as provided by state law. The Board is vested with budget and taxing authority, authority to adopt county ordinances, and control of county property, roads, and facilities.

The Chairman and Commissioners are elected at-large for staggered terms of four years. The Chairman is a full-time elected official and the county’s Chief Executive Officer who, in consultation with the Commissioners, appoints officers and staff as needed to administer the responsibilities of the Board.


Regular Meetings are held the 1st Tuesday of each month at 6 p.m.

Agenda Setting Meetings are held the Tuesday prior to each regular meeting at 6 p.m.

Commission Chambers
Oconee County Administrative Building
7635 Macon Highway
Watkinsville, GA 30677

Agendas and Minutes

Agendas are available prior to meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View agendas and minutes

View archived minutes July 6, 2004 - January 3, 2008

Related Documents