Probate Court

Mission 

The mission of the Oconee County Probate Court is to administer justice with fairness, equality, and integrity, to resolve matters before the court in a timely manner with trained and motivated staff, and to provide courteous and prompt service in a manner that inspires public trust and confidence.

Court Personnel 

  • Mike Hunsinger, Probate Court Judge 
  • Ginny King, Chief Clerk 
  • Debbie Turner, Traffic Court Operations/Coordinator 
  • Julie Jackson, Senior Probate Clerk
  • Tiffany Norton, Traffic Clerk
  • Kayla Houseman, Traffic/Probate Clerk

Court Jurisdiction 

  • Administration of Estates
  • Birth and Death Certificates
  • Certificates of Residence
  • Fireworks Display Permits
  • Guardians and Conservators of Adults
  • Involuntary Hospitalization/Outpatient Evaluations
  • Marriage License
  • Misdemeanor Possession of Marijuana Offenses
  • Misdemeanor Traffic Offenses
  • Probate of Wills
  • Temporary and Permanent Guardians of Minors
  • Underage Possession of Alcohol Offenses
  • Weapons Carry License

      



  1. Marriage license
  2. Pay Traffic Ticket
  3. Vital Records
  4. Weapons Carry License

Hours: 

Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday  8:00 am to 3:00 pm.                                         

 No marriage license issued on Thursdays.


Applicants must  first apply online (See the link below) then both come to our office to finish the process. After you complete the application it has to call our office for an appointment. NO APPOINTMENT IS NEEDED. See above for Marriage License hours

Requirements:

1) Each applicant must provide one (1) of the following forms of photo ID in order to obtain a marriage license:

  • Georgia issued Driver's license
  • Georgia issued Identification Card
  • Armed Forces Identification Card
  • U.S. Passport
  • Driver's License issued by another state within the U.S.

2) At least one applicant must be a Georgia resident.

3) Applicant must be 18 years old or older.

4) If applicant had a previous marriage, documentation must be provided.

5) Cost: $66.00 (without premarital education certificate)
$26.00 (with premarital education certificate)

Payment: Cash, Credit Card, Money Order (NO CHECKS ACCEPTED)
Please Note: WHEN PAYING BY CREDIT CARD, A USER FEE WILL BE ADDED.

Marriage Application