The Patrol Deputies are the most visible members of the Oconee County Sheriff’s Office. The primary responsibilities of the Deputies assigned to this division are to provide protection of life, individual liberty, and property; enforce the laws of this state, and county ordinances within the agency’s jurisdiction and the detection and arrest of violators of the law. The division’s functions are broad based and include many tasks other than the enforcement of laws.

Oconee County consists of approximately 186 square miles, which is divided into six main patrol zones and include the cities of Bishop, Bogart, Farmington, and High Shoals. Deputies are assigned to zones during their shifts allowing them to be familiar with the area and the citizens within their zone.